A Minute

 Psalm 27:14. I have read this verse often. If you read the NIV it says:

Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.

And it is encouraging to know that whatever we are going through at the moment, we need but wait for God. What we seek will be provided, the clouds will be lifted. It is good to know we must surrender. We must give it up, we must wait. As Ecclesiastes says, He has made everything beautiful in His time. We must but be patient. We need to wait for God rather than running off on misguided adventures or hasty conclusions.

But at the same time I have always found verses such as this intensely frustrating. If there is a problem, waiting is the last thing I want to do: the last thing it seems I should do. And so I wondered what is it even to wait for the Lord?

And as it happens so often with those sort of musings, an answer came sooner than expected. If you read the same verse in the KJV you will read: Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.

To be sure this looks very similar, but one word has changed and so the whole meaning. We are now it seems not merely to wait for the Lord, we are to wait on the Lord. Which is to say that now, we have something to do. We are to wait on the Lord as a servant his master. We are to do his will where we know to do it.

The issue before us, the relationship, the doubt, the whatever. This is inconsequential in a way, we are not to worry about it. An answer will come, a good one even if we do not see it as so. We are to wait, patiently, for that answer. But we are not just to wait for, we are to wait on. We must not grind to a halt because of an unruly quandary. We must persevere in a sense. God will answer the question, but in the meantime we aren’t as the unwise servant in the parable, to bury our gold in the ground. We are to go out and to earn a return. We are to do the will of God where we know it even as we wait to find His will where we do not. I may not know what God wants me to do with my life so soon to change, but I do know that God, today, wants me to help the poor. To put myself in right relation with himself, my parents, my siblings, my friends, and everything else. And that, that is really quite enough for me to handle.

And this message is of course reinforced, though I did not till just now see it, throughout scripture. [T]omorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. And again, are not the lillies of the field, which are here today and gone tomorrow, clothed more gloriously than Solomon in all his splendor? If the LORD cared for these, how much more shall He care for thee, oh you of little faith?

And I find, certainly for me, that this is always the issue in life. However much I might deny it, my faith is nowhere near as large as a mustard seed. How little I have even though this year I have been able to gain and be given so much.

And all this I found, from a verse. Fed to me on my phone. Glanced at briefly, but lodged deeply.

