Little Things

I saw a whale breach today off the coast at sharks cove. Made my day in more ways than I can explain.

Anyway, I happened to be listening to King Charles at the time and I noticed a link in the lyrics of two of his songs, whether intentional or not really doesn’t matter to me.

In Love Lust, King Charles ends by chanting:

Love will set your soul on fire,
Love will set your soul on fire.


And then later in We Didn’t Start the Fire:

No, we didn’t start the fire.
No it’s always burning,
Since the world was turning.
We didn’t start the fire.
No we didn’t light it,
but we tried to fight it.


Having the verse, “We love Him, because He first loved us” engrained in my mind (and having had a English professor who convinced me that all beauty is truth and thus of God) what stood out to me is if we were to stick the two together we would see that we didn’t start the fires of love, nor did we encourage them. We have fought them, always and everywhere do we fight God and His love for us. Not only does God give us the grace that we call salvation, He gives us the grace that is the ability to accept it.

What a Savior have we.

Leave a Reply

